Some people charge through life with purpose and determination. They have a clear goal in mind and work towards it every day. Unfortunately, for most of my life I was not one of those people. My life could better be described by the song lyric from Bruce Springsteen’s Hungry Heart:

Like a river that don’t know where it’s flowin’, I took a wrong turn and I just kept goin’.

In school I had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. My mom suggested a career in science, studying the composition of materials and foods (but then what mom didn’t). Okay, I’ll do that. Until I started college. I realized that I didn’t really want to be a scientist, so how about something in computers? “No, the computer science field will be saturated when you graduate”, said my guidance counselor. “Accounting is where you want to be.” Oh, okay.

That lasted for two years. Two long, boring years. Then one day, I’d had enough. I remember one accounting class professor saying at the start of the semester that the class will in no way prepare you for the CPA exam. Then why was I here? Do I really want to be an accountant? No. So I dropped out and went to work at a convenience store.

I enjoyed RC planes as a hobby and a coworker suggested I go to work at a local company that distributed those toys. Her son did and he got great deals on the planes and gear. Oh, okay.

So I got a new job there and that’s where I still am today, two decades later. My interest in RC has long since faded.

Last year, though, things began to change. I read a book …

Well, I’ll save that story for another time.

This Is Your Song

