One of the Daily Prompts suggested doing a post about the 11th item on my bucket list. There’s one little problem with that one. I don’t have a bucket list. I have a few ideas in mind as to what I want to do before I die, just not in list form.

How could I expand on #11, if I don’t have an ordered list. I went to Google for inspiration, quickly found bucketlist.com and began browsing. Unfortunately, they stopped me with an overlay which popped up saying I had to join in order to see more. How annoying. So, I moved on.

Then I found John Goddard’s life list. As I was looking it over seeing all of the items ticked off I thought this guy has had quite the adventurous life. He’s climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro, explored the Amazon River, rode a horse in the Rose Parade, flew in a blimp and became an Eagle Scout. Near the end of the list I saw an odd entry: Light a match with .22 rifle. How and – perhaps more importantly – why would you want to do such a thing?

Since Google is my friend, I went back in search of an answer. The first result gave up the goods. Once upon a time lighting a match with a .22 was a common carnival game. If you were successful, you’d win the big prize. Interesting, but I don’t think I’ll add that to my list.

So what is my #11? I’m still not sure. Perhaps it’s a hot air balloon ride or driving a Lamborghini? Maybe visiting the Smithsonian or learning to surf? How about watching a lava flow? I don’t know. I’ll have to work on it.

 

