Do you resist change or embrace it? Maybe it depends on the situation. For me it does. When my wife wants to make cosmetic changes to the house, I’m okay with that. Paint, pictures, knick-knacks… stuff like that is fine.

But if it’s a functional change, then that’s a different story. Rearrange the living room, replace a cabinet, add a bathroom… that’s where I need to do some thinking. Will the change improve something overall? If yes, then let’s try it otherwise let’s reconsider.

I’m all for making things better, easier, simpler, but I’m not big on change just to be different if it means I have to adapt without seeing any benefit. For example, when my wife brought home a large wooden cover for our stove. She played up the benefit of being able to store things on the stove, a feature I wasn’t sold on at all. Plus, using the stove became more complicated.  After a couple of days the stove cover ended up in the basement.

Some things are small enough to try out rather than needing to put in a great deal of thought beforehand. Putting our meals on index cards, for example. Doing so makes it easier for me to shop for groceries and also easier to plan our meals for the following week.

Some change is gradual like when I decided to lose weight. I ate a bit less at each meal and lost 20 pounds in six months.

Sometimes change needs to be dramatic, all at once, cold turkey to have an effect. For me that was gambling. Years ago I worked at a convenience store that soldlottery instant lottery tickets. During my shift I would buy a ticket here and there when I noticed a run of losing tickets. I didn’t win anything much, but I kept on trying. I spent more than I wanted and couldn’t seem to kick the habit until one day I came up with a radical plan. I would buy a brick of tickets and end it once and for all.

So I did. I took $300, bought 300 tickets, and spent the evening scratching them to see what I had won. I ended up with $150. That satisfied my craving, my addiction. I never touched instant lottery tickets again.

 

