I’d like to think I would have handled things differently. The idea of going back in time and counseling your younger self with the benefit of the knowledge you have today. Would you have acted differently? I used to think I so, but now I’m not so sure.

Age and experience have changed my perspective. The biggest challenge to my thinking comes when I counsel my teenage son by using my mistakes as examples. As I relate an issue he’s facing with my long-term perspective, I see my younger self, the one with the you-can’t-tell-me-what-to-do attitude.

I show him how our actions have consequences, both short term and long term. I encourage him to think about the future and make good choices. Sometimes he does, oftentimes he doesn’t. Just like I did. I guess that’s just part of growing up.

 

 

